↑ Return to Intermediate

Mrs. Green’s Webpage

 

     science label

Welcome to Mrs. Green’s 5th Grade Science Class!

 

Have a great summer!!! 

New 2014-15 information will be added to this site in August 2014!

 

 funding factory

CIS collects empty ink cartridges and old cell phones to turn in for cash for our school through Funding Factory.  Check out their site for more information. http://www.fundingfactory.com/  If you have any items you would like to donate, send them with your child and they can drop them off in my room, Mrs. Coleman’s or Mrs. Reynolds.  Thank you!

Mrs. Green’s Student Success and Vision - This document reflects opportunities students have to achieve success and my vision statement.

ENRICHMENT SITES FOR STUDENTS

Articles

Science News for Kids:  http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/category/life/

News ELA:  http://newsela.com/

Science News:  http://sciencenetlinks.com/science-news/

Games and Interactives

Scholastic Study Jams (Science and Math):  http://studyjams.scholastic.com/studyjams/index.htm

PBS Kids Zoom Science: – http://pbskids.org/zoom/activities/sci/

Sheppard Software: http://sheppardsoftware.com/

Science for Kids:  http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/

Science Interactive Activities:  http://www.uen.org/3-6interactives/science.shtml

Scholastic Computer Lab Favorites: http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/clf/tguidesitemap.htm

Science Links Afterschool Favorites:   http://sciencenetlinks.com/afterschool-resources/

Eco Kids:  http://www.ecokids.ca/pub/games_activities/index.cfm

Train Your Brain:  http://www.proprofs.com/games/c/brain-training/

Making Graphs:  http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx

NASA Space Place:  http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/menu/play/

Science Net Links:  http://sciencenetlinks.com/afterschool-resources/

The Rock Cycle:  http://www.learner.org/interactives/rockcycle/index.html

Science Games for Kids:  http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/gamesactivities.html

Discovery Kids:  http://kids.discovery.com/

Weather Wiz Kids: http://weatherwizkids.com/

Weather for Kids:  http://weatherforkids.org/

Elclipse Interactive:  http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/olcweb/cgi/pluginpop.cgi?it=swf::800::600::/sites/dl/free/0072482621/78778/Eclipses_Nav.swf::Eclipse%20Interactive

Phases of the Moon:  http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/moon_phases/

Lunar Phases:  http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/olcweb/cgi/pluginpop.cgi?it=swf::800::600::/sites/dl/free/0072482621/78778/Lunar_Nav.swf::Lunar%20Phases%20Interactive

Seasons:  http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/olcweb/cgi/pluginpop.cgi?it=swf::800::600::/sites/dl/free/0072482621/78778/Seasons_Nav.swf::Seasons%20Interactive

Weather Wiz Kids:  http://weatherwizkids.com/weather-instruments.htm

PBS Kids Zoom:  http://pbskids.org/zoom/activities/sci/thermometer.html

UEN:  http://www.uen.org/weather/station.shtml

Science Kids:  http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/weather.html  (Scroll down to ‘Projects’)

Scholastic:  http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/wwatch/gather_data/

Classroom Enrichment Opportunities

*  Visit HSP Enrichment Software on student computers.

*  Dig deeper by exploring the classroom library (encyclopedias, books, and magazines).

*  Participate in classroom challenges.

 

Look what we did in 5th grade Science in 2013-14.

 

March 2014 WEATHER INSTRUMENT CHALLENGE WINNER:  Sierra E. for her anemometer.  Picture below.

IMG_1228[1]Other student instruments…

IMG_1225[1]IMG_1224[1] IMG_1229[1] IMG_1226[1]

 

 

February 2014 – Chemical changes (left) and how humans affect ecosystems with vinegar and seeds (right).

IMG_1192[1]      IMG_1187[1]

 

January 2014 – Food Chains, Food Webs, and Energy Pyramids

IMG_1098 IMG_1100 IMG_1103 IMG_1104 IMG_1105 IMG_1106 IMG_1107 IMG_1108 IMG_1109 IMG_1111 IMG_1112 IMG_1113

 

December 2013 – Making Crystals

 

IMG_0916IMG_0910IMG_0919IMG_0923

 November – Roasting Marshmallows (and learning about physical and chemical changes).

IMG_0859IMG_0861

IMG_0860

October – Students teaching students through demonstrations.

IMG_0862 IMG_0849   IMG_0848

 

science wizard

I love to hear from parents and caregivers about how I can better help your child.  If you have questions or concerns, please email me at pggreen@checotah.k12.ok.us.